A Terrible Blogger is Born!

January 23, 2009

I Wanna Riot of My Own

Filed under: Anarchy,State,U.S.A — rmangum @ 4:56 am
Tags:

seattle-robert-crumb1Over in Iceland they’re rioting in the streets over the bailout of their banks. That’s right, Iceland. Kinda makes us look like a bunch of slobs, right? I mean, the overwhelming majority of the public in this country were opposed to the bailouts that happened here, but it was passed by the people we elected to (hard to write this, I’m laughing and crying at the same time) represent us, right? Are we not the country of the Boston Tea Party and the Whiskey Rebellion?

Of course, there was a demonstration back in October on Wall Street, and this sign is particularly good, almost as good as when Allen Ginsberg and Abbie Hoffman performed an exorcism on the pentagon. We need that rebelliousness and that prankster spirit back. Nothing violent, but unmistakable presence, a “No! in thunder”.

It brings a song to mind:

White riot – I wanna riot
White riot – a riot of my own
White riot – I wanna riot
White riot – a riot of my own


Black man gotta lot a problems
But they don’t mind throwing a brick
White people go to school
Where they teach you how to be thick


An’ everybody’s doing
Just what they’re told to
An’ nobody wants
To go to jail!


All the power’s in the hands
Of people rich enough to buy it
While we walk the street
Too chicken to even try it


Everybody’s doing
Just what they’re told to
Nobody wants
To go to jail!


Are you taking over
or are you taking orders?
Are you going backwards
Or are you going forwards?

White riot – I wanna riot
White riot – a riot of my own
White riot – I wanna riot
White riot – a riot of my own

-The Clash, “White Riot”, 1977

1 Comment »

  1. Jump you fuckers, indeed.

    Comment by Michael — January 24, 2009 @ 3:20 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

