A Terrible Blogger is Born!

August 21, 2009

A Terrible Blogger is back!

Filed under: Uncategorized — rmangum @ 3:29 am
Tags: ,

artwork_images_112457_205754_raymond-pettibon

Well, my nearly month-long hiatus from blogging is officially over. I don’t know how all those folks out there on the interweb got along without me, but they can rest easy knowing I’m manning the keyboard once again. Let’s see, what’s happened in my absence? Well, there were Hiroshima and Nagasaki days (August 6th and 9th, respectively). Daniel Ellsberg wrote a moving piece about it recently, America Has Been Asleep at the Atomic Wheel for 64 Years. Fuck Truman! Speaking of warmongering Democratic presidents, Obama’s dumbass Afghan attacks continue. But nobody wants to talk about that, since it might fuck up Health Care or some such bullshit.

I also want to mention something disturbing I saw recently. I was on the way to pick up Jane at the courthouse, where she volunteers for Legal Aid, and I was passed by a bus with a huge advertisement along the side. An advertisement for the cops. There were a row of them decked out in full SWAT regalia. The tag line went: “We’ve Got Your Back”. More like, “We’ve Got (Guns at) Your Back”, I thought. Then there was a phone number, followed by a line which said something like, “Please report substance abuse”. Substance abuse! Don’t hesitate folks, drop the dime on anyone peacefully pursuing illicit pleasure. Crack their fucking skulls and abscond with their corpus. Who gives a shit for them anyway?

I told Jane I thought we were living in a fascist country. Not “heading toward”, but “living in”. That was earlier, and she had no idea what I was talking about. This is what I was talking about. Nobody believes it because nobody knows what a fascist America would look like. Contrary to anachronistic movies like V for Vendetta, it doesn’t look like the last time around. Ads like these blend into our environment, as if it said “Eat at Joe’s”.

Even the Gestapo, even the KGB, didn’t have fucking advertisements.

Well, this has been a more bitter post than I expected, so I’ll leave it at that. Don’t forget to head on over to the Nightwatchman for your literary fix. And yes, there will be a song for Sunday this week.

Peace.

2 Comments »

  1. There’s a lot of anger and swearing in this post, goddammit. Thanks for The Nightwatchman shout-out. I’ll try to post another story in a couple of weeks. I’ve just been working some mad OT at the job, because I need the money, and because I’m forced by the rulers of this FASCIST country to work my ass off every day just to get by.

    Comment by Michael — August 25, 2009 @ 1:54 am | Reply

  2. […] A Terrible Blogger is Back! by Ray Mangum […]

    Pingback by Attack the System » Blog Archive » Updated News Digest August 30, 2009 — August 29, 2009 @ 11:20 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

